Academic awards - The Eagle Post : News

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Not you?||
Logout|My Dashboard
Current Conditions:

Academic awards

SCES honors achievement

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, May 1, 2013 12:00 am

South Christian Elementary School held a banquet Monday night at Valor Hall for its students who earned a proficiency rating in the school’s K-PREP test last year.

K-PREP stands for Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress. This year’s test will be taken in the elementary schools on May 13-17.

“Last year was the first year that students in Kentucky took the K-PREP,” said SCES principal Janie Giles. “It was a tougher test, and our kids still excelled. We were the only school in Christian County with a proficient rating.”

She added that SCES students were three points from getting a distinguished rating, the highest level attainable.

The fourth- and fifth-grade students being honored at the banquet had to have a proficient rating in at least two categories. Third-grade students only take two tests — math and reading — so this year’s fourth-graders who were honored had to get a proficient or distinguished rating in both tests to be able to attend the banquet. Fourth-graders take four tests: reading, math, science and language arts.

The K-PREP test is taken by students from grades 3 through 12.

Those students honored at the banquet included:

•Fifth grade: Loretta Albrecht, Abdiel J. Alicea, Percy Anderson, Lucas Ballard, Caitlin Biggs, McKayla Blackwell, Mala Bradford, Felicity Cole, Brianna Coleman, Kimya David, Victor Dominguez, Leslie Guzman, Landon Halle, Wade Harper, Alyssa Herod, Madison Hibbs, Macy Kaeferle, Isabel Keys, Shaikia Lindsay, Vaughn Marshall, Jesse R. Messer, Kallah Miller, Dustyn Miltenberger, Elizabeth Morris, Jessica O’Brien, Samantha Powers, Bailey Prowse, Jaslyn Rivera, Jocelyn Rivera, Todd Siler, Dillon Smithson, Brett Stallons and Steven Wooten.

•Fourth grade: Diante Crittendon, Haylee Davis, Sanae Fujii, Connor Gary, Damien Halder, Stephanie Henry, Devin Hickerson, Braden Howell, Kylie Hutchings, Evelina Jones, Megan Kean, Terek Marshall, Gracey Meacham, Haley Nickerson, Nathan Osteep, Bree Patton, Elijah Perdue, Kaylee Perry, Ana Ramirez, Madelyn Ramos, Christopher Ray, Jaylan Renna, Collin Sturdivant, Joseph Uranek, Kendzie Weatherwax and Tommy Woods.

David Snow is the editor of The Eagle Post. Reach David at 270-887-3295 or

Copyright 2015 The Eagle Post . All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

US/National News Video

Wednesday 07/29/2015
The Eagle Post
Posted: July 29, 2015

Posted in Eedition on Wednesday, July 29, 2015 12:00 am. Comments (0)

more »
More Today's E-Edition